Blizzard’s billion-dollar video game is forming a league with real home teams

The Overwatch League officially announced its first seven professional teams, which will compete three times a week for a regularly scheduled season. The initial teams will be based in New York, Boston, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Miami, Orlando, Shanghai, and Seoul. Teams in the US northeast will benefit from the experience of traditional sports owners—Boston’s team was bought by the NFL’s New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft, and the New York team by MLB’s New York Mets COO Jeff Wilpon.