Day 1 Draft Bites

BY Draft Lead Philip Arnold @PhilipArnold20


We wrapped up a very interesting 1st Round at Radio City Music Hall.  Round 2 begins tomorrow at 6:30 PM with each team receiving 7 minutes per pick.  Round 3 will follow with 5 minutes for each team. Here are some facts and interesting numbers.

2013 was the 1st draft since 1963 where no RB was drafted in Round 1.

Eric Fisher became the 4th ever Tackle selected number one overall. The last was Jake Long in 2008. He is the 1st player ever from the MAC and highest pick ever from the conference.

Luke Joeckel is the 5th Texas A&M player selected in the top five of the draft.  The last was Von Miller in 2011.

A school known for their high powered offenses, Dion Jordan is the first ever Oregon defensive player drafted in the Top 10.

Ziggy Ansah played football for the first time in 2010 when he walked onto the BYU team.

There were 5 1st round trades, 6 including the Revis one, this year.  Last year’s first round included 19.

The SEC had 12 players taken in Round 1. This ties the ACC in 2007, for the most player taken from one conference in the first round.

More than half the first round selections, 18, came from the offensive or defensive line.

Lane Johnson played QB in high school.

With Dee Milliner going in the top 10 its the 4th straight year Alabama has had a defensive player drafted in the top 10.

16% of the Alabama commitments from their 2008 & 2009 classes were drafted in the first round.

Bears draft choice, Kyle Long, comes from a extensive football family.  He is the son of Howie Long and brother of Chris Long. He was also drafted by the Chicago White Sox in the 2008 MLB Draft.

New Atlanta Falcons CB, Desmond Trufant, also comes from a football family.  One brother, Marcus, plays for the Seahawks, and Isiah was with the Jets.

German born Bjoern Werner played football for the first time at age 15.

With the Cowboys taking Wisconsin C Travis Frederick, the Big 10 just missed having no first round pick since 1953.

Only 3 players from Non-BCS Qualifying schools were taken in the first round, Fisher, Ansah and Hayden.